Many offenders commit more crime after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this?

Crime offenders are making more unlawful activities after they are punished for their early offence. The reason is because of the environment where they spend their tenure of imprisonment. This essay highlights the possible reasons and viable options to reduce the illegal activities by offenders after serving the punishment. On the one hand, Illegal activities are now carried out by offenders who completed their prison tenure for their early offence, As jails are serving as the training houses for wrongdoers, they get to meet other prisoners and all together plan for more illegal activities. Those who get out early are executing their plans more precisely than ever since they are trained by offenders who have done grave illegalities earlier, which can make them to implement their plan more efficiently than ever. For instance the robbers at The federal bank last year revealed that they were all trained in a jail by offenders spending their tenure. It is just one of many instances and many could follow in the future if not contained now. On the other hand, Imprisonment is becoming a hatching spot for many repeat offenders and governments should act to take preventive measures from these criminal meetings. A first time offender can be punished with social service instead of putting the person behind bars as the law breaker can learn from his wrong doings which can also inspire towards community duty post completion of the sentence. This is evident from the steps taken up by the government of Norway. The offenders who commit petty mistakes are being assigned to social work and a majority of them were offered with long term jobs, thereby not allowing them to do a crime again and paving for a legally accepted profession. The initiative drastically reduced the crime rate in the country by forty percent when compared to the past decade. To recapitulate it is clear that first time lawbreakers should not be allowed in prisons filled with cruel law breakers which can turn these petty offenders into a misdemeanour doer, instead they should be served separately and put into social work which can bring in the change of mindset and reduce crime rates.