In some cultures, the old age is highly valued while in some cultures, the youth is considered to be more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, it is generally believed that older people should be prioritised while the protestors of this view argue that young generations are much more worth the attention. Personally, I hold a firm opinion that although the elderly should be applauded for their contributions, the society should place greater importance on the development of the young. For a variety of reasons, it would be more justifiable for a government to consider the well-being of young generations as its top priority. First and foremost, young people seem to bring about a higher level of productivity compared to the aged labour force. Since young people have better physical health conditions, they tend to become more gainful candidates for a variety of work fields, especially those requiring adequate muscle strength. Under the same circumstances, young generations with better adaptability will determine the continuity of this fast-changing world. In the technological era where manual labours have gradually become redundant and been replaced by artificial intelligence, there are limited rooms for people from the previous generations who relied heavily on conventional working approaches to make a living. Therefore, young people who are up-to-date with cutting-edge technology seems to be more profitable investors if the government has to do some calculations for its investment. Despite the aforementioned practical concerns, there are still people holding the opposing view and praising the significance of older generations. The common rationale for this advocacy lies in life experience that older people accumulate during their lifetime. These senior citizens are believed to be capable of passing on their knowledge and practical experience, thus enriching a country’s tradition and helping young people have more appropriate life orientation. As a result, there are plenty of supporters advocating that the government should create optimum conditions, granting the elderly opportunities to share their values with the public. Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that the youth should be more appreciated compared to their aged counterparts.