Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, it has become a serious discussion that to how extent children should take part in decisions related to them. While some think letting them to decide about what to wear or eat, or choose their hobbies will make them selfish, I believe decision making is an important component of children's development and their views should be considered about what have an effect on them. There are some people who believe in giving options to children is not a good way of training.These people think this will result in adults who just take their own benefits into consideration since they have learned to think about their own sides. For instance, when it comes to some youth to choose their clothes without considering their parents budget or decide what to eat in a restaurant and do not even take a look at the prices, how these youths can learn to respect others existence. ‏ This group considers lenient parents give rise to selfish kids. On the other hand, there are some who think by letting children have their own choices, the process of development as well as decision-making foster in children. Learning to decide about simple matters like eating and clothing, children will be prepared to take the responsibility for their decisions. For example, once the kid chooses sore treat and does not like it, the other time will notice to ingredients of whatever he/she buys. As a result, the kid will be trained and prepared to accept the consequences of his decision. In conclusion, although it is a hard time for training children and many believe in not involving children in deciding about themselves, I believe it is an important part in their intellectual development and definitely they should take part in those decisions.