Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One of the social concerns today relates to mutual relationships between human beings in contemporary societies. While it is commonly thought that people are likely to rely on one another, others believe that individuals prefer to have more control over their lives. I am going to discuss these opposing points of view. Personally, I think it depends on each situation that we should be independent or not. On the one hand, it is argued that dependence is becoming more and more in favour. It is mainly because each person may only be good at one or two areas. Therefore, we still have to rely on others for things like healthcare, security, and emotional support. For example, we may rely on doctors to treat our illnesses, we need police to keep us safe, and we cannot live without friends or family who will always be by our side when we have difficulties. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that self-sufficiency is popular these days. People often have this opinion because people are able to do many things independently with the development of the internet and technologies, such as working remotely, self-learning, and e-banking. For example, my company find it efficient when keeping its staff working from home three days per week. Consequently, this allows for greater self-government and flexibility in terms of balancing work and personal life. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that mutual reliance is likely to be prevalent; meanwhile, others assume that self-sufficiency is becoming more and more popular. Personally, I tend to believe that it’s essential to discern in which circumstances that we should be independent or need support from our family members, friends and colleagues.