*Assignment* In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In many nations, despite the deterioration of serious crimes, people still feel unsafe as compared to earlier times. In my opinion, there could be multiple reasons for this issue and it can be tackled with the joint efforts of the Government, police forces and the general populace. In many countries, the drop in serious crimes has only paved way for the rise in petty crimes. This can be linked to the enforcement of strict laws and punishments in case of crimes like homicide, rape, terrorist activities, but not many in case of trivial crimes. While the Government was busy making citizens free from such crimes, the offenders shifted their focus to petty crimes like burglary, theft, eve-teasing, among many others. These occurrences have a detrimental effect on the free movement of the citizens and people feel scared while travelling alone; this is particularly true for women. Besides this, the Government should also try to look into certain driving force which compels the people to commit such activities. Lack of education and unemployment could be the obvious reasons. The Government needs to curb this menace the same way it controlled other precarious crimes. Firstly, there should be heavy fines and strict laws for petty crimes as well. Secondly, the Government should also try to redress the issues of unemployment, poverty and illiteracy. Short vocational courses can be opened up so that people are able to earn their daily bread instead of relying on illegal measures for the same. Lastly, the co-operation of the general public is of utmost importance. They ought to report every mishap and assist the police in carrying out the investigation till the culprit is punished. To conclude, I believe that lack of strict protocols, illiteracy and unemployment could be the main reasons which forces people to indulge in criminal activities. These issues can be resolved by the joint efforts of the Government and the general public.