Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others feel it is better to wait until the child is at secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In today's globalized world, speaking more than one language might be an essential advantage. However, should children start learning a second language at the moment their education begins? While some feel that it is better to wait until later, I believe that students should start learning it immediately in the first grade. On the one hand, some people could argue that learning a foreign language negatively affects the child's mother tongue. For instance, words from a different language can be mixed into the first one while students express their ideas during the lessons or at home. Another reason is that children might need to have more off-lesson time. Lower grade students are expected to have a less busy timetable, so that they can play games, do sports and have leisure activities. Having many lessons at the beginning of formal education can have a detrimental effect on students' motivation for studying. Therefore, it is vital to keep the schedule in the primary years as basic as possible. On the other hand, I side with those who believe the children at an early age are natural learners. This ability to learn a language fades with age. As an example, we can see that when adults try to learn it, they struggle and put in more effort than children. Moreover, pronunciation, which is a problematic issue to master, can be easy for children. They have no fear of speaking and making mistakes, so they improve their pronunciation much faster. Learning a foreign tongue develops sophisticated cognitive skills, and that can have an overall beneficial effect on the brain. As a result, children will eventually perform better in school and life. In conclusion, although learning two languages at the same period might be a little confusing, development of a cognitive skills at an early age will have a positive effect on a child's life. Therefore, on balance, I wholeheartedly believe that students should learn new languages as early as possible.