Many parents today employ private tutors to reach their children after school hours. Do you think tthis is a positive or negative development?

It is often claimed that, historically, children enjoyed more free time outdoors with friends, getting lots of physical exercise, whereas nowadays more and more children are being forced to work with private teachers after school. There are definitely advantages to having a private tutor, especially if the child has a weak area and is falling behind the class, but on the whole, I believe this to be a negative development because tuition is expensive and could be robbing children of time for other areas of development that are crucial to their overall growth. In a competitive world, parents understandably want to give their children the best chance in life from the beginning, and many believe getting a tutor can help students develop through their weaker areas. For example, if a student struggles with maths at school, private tuition just once or twice a week at home can pull the student through sufficiently to pass the essential exams. It may also boost the child ’s confidence. Hence, private tuition could be an important boost for a struggling child. The above argument is a powerful one, however, I would argue that there are more disadvantages than advantages of private tuition. Firstly, it costs a lot of money. To really benefit from private tuition, parents need to choose a tutor who is trustworthy, well-qualified, and experienced. This costs a lot of money and can result in parents over-stretching themselves financially. Furthermore, the child may struggle to make progress and become stressed and exhausted trying to please their parents. Hence, it might not be worth the money. Secondly, and I think more importantly, it is crucial that children have enough time and space to develop in areas other than study. In particular, they need time for lots of physical and creative activity, preferably outdoors and with friends. The more a child outside school, the more they are being robbed of that valuable time away from study. In conclusion, it might be a good idea to get a private tutor once or twice a week if the child is really struggling to keep up with a subject. However, parents should only consider this if they can comfortably afford it and more importantly, should make sure the child is not getting pressured over it and is getting enough time for physical exercise with friends.