Some people think that foreign visitors should be charged more than locals when they visit cultural and tourist attractions in a country. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Popular tourist and cultural attractions in most countries are quite expensive. According to some, the tickets should be cheaper for locals than the overseas traveller. In my view, I do think that it is a good solution, especially for developing countries. To begin with, international travels has become more and more common, thus the popularity of many places has increased. Moreover, a number of cultural sites which have been free of charge for years started introducing fees for visitors even the local ones. For instance, in my area entrance to the castle was free of charge, however, after the promotion of the local attractions, the authorities decided it needs to be paid and the fee is the same for domestic and international travellers. On the other hand, in many developing countries with a large amount of poor people, tourist and cultural sites should be unpaid. Furthermore, for many residents those places are important because of their religion. For instance, Sigirija in Sri Lanka for tourists is an ancient rock with stunning view, but for locals it is a place for prayers. Consequently, it should be paid for internationals and free of charge for those who live there. Moreover, rising number of people who visit cultural sites caused their greater exploitation and pollution, therefore additional resources needs to be taken to protect them. Finally, I fully agree with the statement, that foreigners should pay more for tickets to tourist attractions than its residents since it supports to maintenance the place. In conclusion, tourists and cultural spots should be more expensive for overseas travellers, since that money is a security for local areas and its residents.