Some people say that the amount of noise that people make should be strictly controlled. Others say that people should be free to make as much noise as they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is widely believed that traditions are a representation of the past which hinders the steps to the future. I completely disagree with this idea for these following reasons. Firstly, traditions preserve the moral values that from the structure and foundation of a particular community or group. Traditions are principles, beliefs, or customs that had been established from hundreds or thousands of years ago, yet still exist in the modern society. This means that the presence of traditions must play an irreplaceable role in the people’s lives, regardless of how long the customs have been in existence. Let’s take the bullfighting tradition in Spain as an example. After almost 1000 years in place, Spanish people still regard bullfighting not only as an art form, but also a demonstration of style and technique attributing the courage and honour in Spanish spirit that the people have always taken pride in. Therefore, the elimination of such tradition can result in uncultured next generations that do not pay respect to their ancestors’ beliefs. Once we ignore the meaning of our traditions, we’re in danger of damaging the underpinning of our identity. The sacrifice of traditions, in this case, will not foster any progress in the future, but possibly constrain it. Secondly, the innovation enhances physical evolution, while the traditions help maintain and protect the mental values. The revolution in, such as, technology, automatic machines can only ensure a physically easier life for the people; on the contrary, traditions help secure the mental well-being. In fact, the development of a country does not only assessed in the field of economics but also culture. There is no point in improving the living standards whilst ignoring all the customs and beliefs that define the personality of the community he/she lives in. Some people may say that there are traditions too archaic that is no longer considered appropriate in the modern world. It is true that these kinds of traditions do exist. However, the number of these are not considerable, and there are still various traditions that reinforce the values such as freedom, faith, integrity, a good education, personal responsibility, being selfless, so on and so forth that cannot be replaced or “innovated”. For this reason, in order to ensure a sustainable development, both of the innovation and traditions must be kept in balance and considered equally important. Until this day, traditions still represent a critical piece of our daily life. They do not only strengthen the bond between families and members in a community, but also offers a context for meaningful pause and reflection in between those busy and hustle modern world. They remind us of the principles of our ancestors, which define our past, shape who we are today and who we are likely to become. In conclusion, no matter what happens, traditions are still crucial for the development of the society. The eradication of traditions does not benefit the future progress, but rather put people in the risk of losing their identity.