Some people believe that there should be the death penalty for extremely serious crimes. Others believe that it is not morally correct to kill criminals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people have views that the death penalty is necessary to keep the security system efficient in the society, while there are opponents who claim that it should be banned because it is immoral. Indeed, I completely agree with the argument because without capital punishment, we will become more vulnerable to violence. On the one hand, there are people who argue that the benefits of killing violent criminals considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that the fear of execution acts as a deterrent to commit serious crimes such as rape and murder. It is also possible to say that the execution of a criminal may bring relief to the suffering victims. One good illustration of this is when Saddam Hussein was executed. Many of the victims who were persecuted under his rule expressed joy and relief when he was finally captured and killed. On the contrary, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact sentencing criminals to death is just committing another murder. People often have this opinion because they think that it is immoral to take another person's life, no matter what the reason is. A second point is that many religions are opposed to any form of murder. A particularly good example here is from the bible, which lists, killing another person as one of the Ten Commandments that should not be broken. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that capital punishment is justified. This is because in cases of extreme crime and that deterring crime is more important than taking the moral high ground.