Only formal examinations, written or practical, can give a clear picture of students’ true knowledge and ability at university level. Continuous assessment like course work and projects are poor measures of student ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree on this IELTS topic?

In the modern days, there are countless measurements or techniques which can be used for evaluating students’ knowledge and abilities. People often consider that continuous assessment such as coursework and projects can not be used for examining a student's ability. In this essay, I will discuss why we should not agree that course work and projects are poor measures of student ability. Firstly, theories frequently are not working. As a result, students must learn about how they handle any situations in which they will not get this opportunity in the classroom. Obviously, we are living in the world that is full of uncertainties. By doing some projects we can learn about how we handle problems that will come up due to this situation. Then, the other merit from doing projects is we can stimulate our creative thinking. Based on my experience, theory only narrows down our problem-solving skills because it makes us scared to try new things. On the other hand, we must learn something new every day, nevertheless; the world is always improving. If we do not grow continuously alongside the world, we will be left behind. In conclusion, projects and course works help the students for overcome problems which will occur during their project time and it can help them to stimulate their creative thinking therefore we must agree that these two assessments that can be used for examine student knowledge and ability.