Some people think that children should learn to read from traditional paper books, while others feel that it is fine to start the reading process on an e-reader (like a Kindle or iPad). Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

As modern technology influences our lives, paper books are now replaced by electronic books on many occasions. While some feel that children should be introduced to e-readers as their first and primary devices to learn reading, I agree with those who believe that it is better to start reading from traditional books at the beginning. On the one hand, there are advantages of gadgets for children when they learn the basics of literacy. Firstly, some could think that e-books are more economical. Parents might buy one and only ebook and download loads of various books for free or much cheaper than traditional hard copies. Furthermore, reading materials can be changed and accessed anytime and anyplace if a child wants to read something different or gets bored. At the same time, the parameters of the reading experience such as font, letter size, and paper colour can be adjusted to fulfil the young readers' needs. On the other hand, I believe that it is important to start the reading process from paper books. Children treat all books as different objects that have their unique characteristics. Not only have they pages and letters, but also odour, surface, and weight. Researches have proven that children memorize and learn faster when all of their senses are included in the process. What is more, reading and finishing a paper book gives a sense of accomplishment. That way the child will learn an important skill of getting things done along with learning how to read. This will help them in the future in school and life. In conclusion, although reading a book from e-reader is cheaper, paper copies have unique qualities and trigger the memory of young readers. Therefore, on balance, I side with those who believe the children should first be introduced to traditional books.