Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether to have animal experimentation or not. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of views and then give my own opinion on the matter. On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that the benefits of animal experimentation considerably outweigh the disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that reliable alternatives to animal testing are not available so far. Another worth noting point is experimenting on animals can help humans to solve various problems that need considerable experimental data to find the supporting evidence. One good illustration of this is the white mouse, which is similar to above 90% of humanity in terms of genes, is used for new drug tests that need response data about change of blood, heart rate and blood pressure and these experiments must continue more than 1 year and thousands of times to make sure new medicines are harmless and functional. On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact, humans have no right to subject animals to this kind of trauma, and that the lives of all creatures should be respected. For example, to explain the structure of the rabbit's body and organs, lecturers may dissect a live rabbit to demonstrate to students. Therefore, what those who suggest banning animal experiments think is that the benefits to humans do not justify the suffering caused, and scientists should use alternative methods of research. A second point is that many religions are opposed to any form of killing. A particular good example here is from The First Buddhist Precept, which requires individuals to abstain from injuring or killing any living creature. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that animal experimentation is justified and it should be maintained until some alternative methods are developed.