The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having only one language in the world?

Historically, war and slavery had played an unavoidable role in setting the groundwork for the popularity of English before tourism industry helped it to reach the climax in the early 21th century. The situation has yet led to the festering fear of a palpable forthcoming that English will become a singular language spoken ubiquitously. This essay will shed some light on the main advantages and the drawbacks to having a single universal language. To embark with, the fact that English prevalence could be favourable in many aspects. The first point is that it could establish a greater flow of information and ideas between countries. In the other words, it is possibly an ease of communication between not only countries but amongst peoples throughout the globe which would vastly promote education and schooling. Another point is that it would immensely aid economic growths. With all people speaking the same tongues, it’s hard to believe there would be any barrier could stop global transactions flourishing. For instance, according to US&UK sociological and financial experts, countries with English as an alternative language tend to be easier to develop and integrate with other countries than the contradictory. Notwithstanding the seemingly advantageous side of the aforementioned phenomenon, I strongly believe that the downside of it is more unequivocal. The noticeable challenge is the extinction of traditional identities, in plain English, it would cause the total eradication of all other languages and, along with that, the cultures which have been preserved by the ancestors for a long time. Furthermore, the diversity of cultures is one of the gifts this world has to offer. Each culture is a unique entity which represents one of the bountiful beauty perspectives of the earth mother. That is also the meaningful reason why we have to protect the national cultural uniqueness at all cost. In conclusion, although there are many pluses to having a singular international language, the losses are almost unbearable. Therefore, maintaining local languages and cultures should be prioritized to ensure a prosperous world heritage for future posterity.