Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. This has negative effects on themselves and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is the opinion of many members of the public that the young are willing to allocate a large sum of time to shopping activities and this will affect them and the community adversely. The writer of this essay agrees with this statement because it can cause financial burdens and the youngsters will also lack concentration on crucial aspects of their life. It must be acknowledged that the majority of teenagers are vulnerable to temptations. This can be observed in many countries where many young individuals pay a remarkable amount of money just for some clothes or cosmetics from a renowned brand. Furthermore, most of them are still financially dependent on their parents, therefore; this will inevitably create a burden for the family. If this is allowed to accumulate over time and spread from family to family, it will result in a crisis that halts the growth of the nation and the annual income. Another point to take into consideration is that shopping will catch the attention of minors and render them unable to focus on other occupations. Accordingly, they will not be heedful in classes and not put any effort into self-development. As a result, this generation will not have the needed qualifications for job application or social acts making them the problem of the community. In conclusion, although shopping is necessary, it must not occupy too much time in the life of the young because they are not independent of their parents and they still have a career to pursue. This essay has shown that shopping excessively will have detrimental effects on society.