Nowadays there is an increasing trend of big shopping centres opening up while small shops are closing down. What are the advantages and disadvantages of big shopping centres versus small local shops?

In this modern era, there are various options for consumers to buy both daily essential and non-essential items. From the past decade, shopping centres have gained popularity by providing all the items under one roof for customers. In contrast to small shops, shopping centres have some pros and cons. Let us discuss both in detail. To commence with, shopping malls have their own benefits over small shops. First of all, with shopping centres, it is more convenient for customers to buy all required items from one place. Secondly, most shopping centres offer various discounts for consumers, which saves them a good amount of money. Moreover, shopping centres have more staff than small shops so they can cater customers more easily. Also, shopping centres are usually situated in a large area which makes it convenient for buyers to park their vehicles and shop. Furthermore, shopping centres have more variety of products to choose from rather than small shops. For Example, Big Bazar, Reliance Fresh are some shopping centres with nationwide presence. It is true that every coin has two sides, so these big centres have some drawbacks too. Firstly, these centres are situated far from the centre of the city, so it is difficult for buyers if they have to purchase a lesser number of items while local shops are usually present at walkable distance. Also, small shops are run by the local population, so they help to boost the local economy while shopping centres are usually part of multinational chains. Additionally, as small shop owners usually know their customers very well, so in case of some emergency buyers can pay them later. In a nutshell, it is apt to conclude that while shopping centres are helping consumers by providing discounts and convenience, but in contrast, they are less accessible than small shops.