Some people believe that there should be the death penalty for extremely serious crimes. Others believe that it is not morally correct to kill criminals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to homicides, there are two arguments about how murderers must be punished for their criminal acts. One group of people thinks a murderer only deserves the death penalty, whereas another group believes life imprisonment is the best option for them. I agree with the second point of view because killing is always an immoral behaviour. Firstly, those who agree with the death penalty affirmation that a guilty person must suffer like a victim. In other words, they truly believe in the well-known motto “an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth”. According to that, there are massive numbers of places around the world where it is legal to kill criminals. However, not only does it depend on the country, but also on regional laws. For example, in Argentina, it is prohibited while in the United States it is legal in some states. Secondly, a more conservative group of citizens thinks that killing, even if the victim is a murderer, is an immoral measure. That is to say, anybody would have the power or decision about human beings’ life. In addition, life defenders have religious beliefs that are against suffering. For that reason, in countries where religion has a crucial role, death penalty is usually illegal. I am totally against killing, and I believe there are other ways to do justice; for instance, life imprisonment can be the best alternative to avoid new crimes and keep our society safe. Moreover, in some cases there might be mistakes of judgment in criminal matters. To sum up, there is no doubt that killing is terrible; however, in some circumstances concerning crimes, it can be justified. One view agrees with the death penalty, whereas the other is against it. As far as I am concerned, I strongly believe life must be respected, and more reasonable punishments for homicides must be found.