More and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development.

In the past few decades, the world has turned into a global village, and enormous brands gained popularity internationally. Some sections of society prefer to shop only from these big name brands. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this development and explain how it weakens the nation and society. Global brands mostly have market giants backing them up financially, which provides them with an extra budget to spend on advertisements and an eye-catching packaging approach. As a result, people do not even compare the benefits and drawbacks of buying them. In a recent survey in Canada, it has been found that more than half the times, local products are proven better, durable, and cost-effective, comparing them with famous brands. Online shopping also shifted the trends towards famous brands because the masses like to purchase online, which is a more comfortable method; however, local products with low popularity often do not have these options. Capitalism is a severe problem, causing interruptions in almost every sector worldwide, and these famous market giants are the principal reason behind it. Mostly, the individuals are even aware that buying these products not destroying the national economy and local businesses systematically because, without the support of local masses, they cannot withstand these huge brands. As a result, some of them collapse every day. For example, studies show that after globalization, more than 40% of local occupations are taken over by famous brands, globally. In a nutshell, every kind of development comes with pros and cons, but the disadvantages of shopping from popular names outweigh the advantages of it. It would be a better approach to compare all sorts of local and international produce before buying anything.