In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single sex schools or co-educational Schools. Some people think that children going to single sex schools have the disadvantages later in life. To what extent do you agree?

In many nations, parents have the freedom and the right to opt any form of schools for their beloved children such as single gender school or co-educational one. However, the dispute about the pros and cons of attending single gender schools has been aroused in recent years. Some people suggest that its demerits will have an adverse influence on children's later life. I personally agree with this statement for several reasons which will be further discussed and elaborated in this essay. To begin with, single gender schools limit the interaction between two genders. As the school is the place for children to learn how to form a friendship and respect the difference among individuals. However, without the experience of socializing with the opposite sex, it might be hard for them to blend in the real society in the future. For instance, they will meet and cooperate with the opposite sex at workplace like supervisors or fellow colleagues, lacking the skill of interacting with different gender, they might have the problem of socialization. Consequently, co-educational schools can provide the platform for students to learn how to get along with the different gender. Besides that, there is a higher possibility of occurrence on school bullying. Some pupils work well with the peers who are the same gender, while others do not. By example, it is common that a more feminine boy is taunted and intimidated by those assertive students because he looks like a girl or skinny. Similarly, a girl who has less interest in the latest fashion is also easily get bullied in the school. Accordingly, the single sex school is not suited for every kid and the pressure from peers may be stronger than other type of schools. In conclusion, the restriction of interacting with the opposite gender and the intense stress among peers is the main demerits of the single gender school, and both can harm the minors mentally and physically, even cause the irreparable results. Therefore, I approve the given statement and suggest that parents should be more discretion before sending their children to single sex schools.