Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since the internet has widely replaced their function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, the role of public libraries is declining due to the increase in the number of functions that provide Internet access. Moreover, some people argue that we do not need bookstores anymore. I agree with this idea to some extent and, simultaneously, want to believe that real books will remain the primary source of inspiration and knowledge for the public. On the one side, there exist several advantages of using technology and the chief among them is easier and faster access to the required information. For example, I can remember challenges I encountered when I was a student when I was looking for specific literature while preparing for an exam. I was forced to visit all the reading salons in the area until I finally found the material I needed. Additionally, online platforms have rich storage of a myriad of materials and filtering features that give an opportunity to users to narrow down the searching process up to more precise details, and this data is in the same place. For instance, if a person requires data about bears, he could define through filters what kind of bears he is searching for such as white bears or grizzlies, in what particular part of the world and many others. On the other side, libraries have rare books and chronicles in their repository that might be highly useful for a researcher and be out of the online sites. To illustrate, there is a well-known ancient librarium in Armenia called Matenadaran where people can find records of native and foreign philosophers and thinkers since the fifth century BC. I wholeheartedly believe that such kinds of places are vital for a society as they keep evidence of the culture and history of a nation. In conclusion, although modern technology gives more opportunities to individuals such as more convenient data manipulation, I opine that society needs the be given a chance to enjoy reading not virtual books.