People nowadays are spending more time at the workplace and it is argued that this is a problem for family life. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The work-life balance is one of the main issues nowadays. There are a lot of discussions on how using more time at work causes problems at home. In this essay, I shall discuss how our professional life affects our lives negatively. To begin with, in the contemporary world, both women and men work in order to afford their household expenses. In that case, kids are brought up by their relatives or another person. When parents return home late because of increased responsibilities at the office, they don’t have enough time for playing or talking with their children about their daily routines. As a result, teenagers allocate most of their day to peers and without parents’ attention, they can have unhealthy surroundings. For example, in the research done by Harvard University in 2013, 71.7% of teenagers whose mother and father spent most of their day at the workplace have harmful habits, like smoking, drinking, taking drugs and so on. On the other hand, the partners have difficulties in their relations when one of them goes back tardily or takes a job at the house. Because of this, they can’t have enough moments to debate on anything, decide on future plans and other points. Additionally, after long hours of work, single employees don’t have enough energy to enjoy their personal life. For instance, the investigation conducted by Cambridge University in 2011 identified that instability between career and family led to 62.3% of divorces. To sum up, if we distribute our day equally for loved ones and employment, worries as divorces, miscommunication and harmful traits will diminish, then everyone will have a happy life.