In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

The youth from a few nations are motivated to do a job or travel for a year during the gap they have starting from high school to beginning education at a University. This essay will discuss the main advantages which are students getting a chance to understand a new culture and learning how to be dependent when they practise the same. It will also highlight plausible disadvantages of the child dropping an idea of pursuing further education along with spending a lot of money during the sabbatical. Firstly, working or travelling abroad gives an understanding and exposure to a different culture which helps students to make wiser, more concrete decisions in life. For example, Susan spent 6 months travelling and worked for the remaining tenure in Canada only to realise that it's not the country she'd want to pursue higher studies in so she immediately changed her future destination to Australia. Secondly, this experiential year helps children delve further in being more independent as they stay alone. For example, when Ritu returned after a year from Dubai, she stopped taking money from her parents for her personal expenditure. These advantages help shape the future for today's generations in various countries across the globe. However, there are downsides to this as well. The annual break very rarely brings back the students' interest in wanting to study as they get too accustomed to the work play routine. For example, Google data suggest that 68% of people who took a break from learning never studied again and directly started a job. Moreover, the investment made to travel and work comes with no or very less guarantee. Another example, despite spending on travelling and working abroad Rajan had could only cover up half his overall expenses. One should keep in mind the risk involved when being decisive in such matters. In conclusion, while the opportunity of experiencing the journey and profession to another land seems advantageous, taking a calculation of possible drawbacks should be also be done simultaneously.