Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects of this on society and families?

Delaying childbirth is a common trend nowadays, while most people are biologically able to have children in their teen years, it became common sense to not have kids until late in life, due to various reasons such as reaching financial stability, getting higher education, or simply trying new experiences without being tied by the responsibilities of having to raise a kid, this tendency has its effects on the society, and in this essay, I will be discussing how it can affect the structure of families. Regarding the reasons, it is a very individualized decision, during all the human history people tended to reproduce at a young age due to fear of fertility issues, especially for women. In contrast, today with all the advanced medical technologies like IVF and egg freezing, this fear has diminished, and people are more aware of how much it costs to have kids in today’s capitalism. Furthermore, I once stumbled upon a study discussing that the expansion of psychological knowledge regarding the impact of childhood traumas and the impact of a good upbringing, had made people more conscious about making this decision only when they are finally stable enough to ensure the right environment for child-rearing. This phenomenon resulted in reversing the population pyramid upside down, meaning that there is an increase in geriatrics compared to youth, which incurs a decline in the workforce and an upward strike in healthcare expenses in many countries like South Korea. Many governments are trying to conquer the long-term effects by offering financial and social support for new parents to encourage the birthrate with minimal results. As a result, many countries like Germeny became highly dependent on skilled immigrants to push the economy. In conclusion, though the quantity of newborn population is in decline, the quality of their childhood is improving, issues like childhood abuse and neglect will be of the past, as only the person who is fully ready to welcome a child in their arms and give them all what they need and deserve will be a parent, imagine a world where everybody is fully loved by their parents, that is a utopia indeed.