The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is increasing the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the most effective method to address the environmental problems on a global scale is the rising expense of fossil fuels. While some people believed that is the best method to handle these issues, I completely disagree with this statement. On the one hand, I would argue that growing the price of fuel is advantageous in a few aspects. First and foremost, air pollution could witness a substantial decrease. This is because if people switch from private vehicles to public transportation, we would drop dramatically CO2 emissions into the atmosphere. As a result, we could mitigate air pollution and enjoy the fresh air on a daily basis. Another benefit is the world would not have to worry about the exhaustion of fossil fuels. Due to the higher expense of fuels, the less people buy and use them. By this way, the government might save a great amount of fossil fuels, which could invest in a lot of facilities such as public service or technological devices to tackle the environmental problems. On the other hand, I believed that the drawbacks of this remedy are more significant. First of all, such problems as soil pollution cannot be solved by this way. As we may know, most waste materials are often buried underground in the landfill and this causes soil pollution over the period time. Such problems like this have to resolve via classifying and treating waste material. In addition to this, many issues such as deforestation, overhunting, overfishing must be tackled by other solutions. For instance, the authority of each nation could enact strict laws or impose green taxes about the environment and those that violate that rule will be heavily punished or fined so they cannot relapse. In conclusion, even though some people argued that this is the most effective method, it seems to me that this remedy merely address some environmental issues on a global scale.