Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

Happiness is considered an indispensable part of everyone’s life. Happiness, however, is hard to define accurately. This essay will clarify the reasons behind this and crucial factors in achieving happiness. There are several explanations for why delight is not always easy to describe. First and foremost, merriment is an abstract idea. We cannot touch or shape happiness; we can only sense it. Furthermore, happiness is difficult to describe since individuals feel it in different ways. For example, a child is gleeful when he is given a toy, while a teenager is in high spirits when she is accepted by her dream college, or promotion cheer up an office-goer. Different factors contribute to different ways of feeling happy; therefore, definition of happiness varies. Although joyfulness is not easy to define precisely, most people would agree that a happy life requires some basic conditions. The first factor that ensures a merry life is safety. Obviously, it is hard to remain pleased when people are in danger. Moreover, good relationships are also a need for ecstatic life. This is due to the fact that when people are with their loved ones (such as their parents or their close friends), they are prone to feel at ease. Last but not least, prosperity, in some certain aspects, is vital to a gleeful life since money and property can ensure carefree days. In conclusion, happiness is hard to define accurately as it depends totally on each individual, and I would say that safety, good company, and prosperity are fundamental factors to maintain a merry life.