English is becoming the most prominent language in the world. Do the advantages of having only one language in the world outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a fact that English is in an outstanding position in the world as it is used globally nowadays. This has caused people to think about whether it is beneficial to have an exclusive language worldwide. Having one language would introduce both pros and cons, but I think that the drawbacks do outweigh the benefits. On the one hand, it is clear that to communicate in one global language would bring about several advantages. One evident strength is that it would reduce the language barrier by strengthening greater understanding between countries. In other words, the flow of information is no longer deterred, thereby promoting learning and mediating conflicts. Another reason is that it would help to develop a healthier world economy by enhancing trade facilitation. Last but not least, cultural and religious discrimination can be reduced to some extent, if all people in the world communicate in the same language. On the other hand, I argue that there are some obvious disadvantages that would make it better not to have a sole language in the world. First, globalisation in language terms will undermine cultural diversity. It means that the special features regarding ways of life and world views of each culture would all be lost if there were only one language. Second, having one global language will definitely turn this world into a monotonous place without any uniqueness of different areas. Consequently, people would not be interested in discovering the world. Finally, this will also be a disadvantage point for individuals with high linguistic intelligence since there are no other languages for them to challenge their brain. In conclusion, there are plus points to speak one language globally. However, it seems to me that its advantages would be more important regarding the loss of cultural diversity, the lack of motivation to explore the world, and a minus point for language intelligence