Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

There are many diseases which are spread all across the world, and with the advancement in the field of science and technology, several vaccines are being developed to tackle these diseases. While some people believe that governments should impose laws which mandates parents to immunize their children, others tend to believe that people have the freedom of choice to decide whether or not their children should be given vaccines. I, however, believe in the former opinion. In this essay, we shall elaborate on this topic further. On the one hand, there are individuals who believe in the health and welfare of the society and thus prefer governments to instigate laws to protect its citizens. Firstly, vaccinations is antibodies which are intentionally registered to an individual body to counteract particular virus or bacteria, and hence doctors and scientist advise people to consume such cures as a preventive measure. Secondly, children are the building blocks of our society and their well-being the major concern of parents as well as the higher authorities and because of immunization, many children are protected from life-threatening illness such as measles, mumps or polio. Lastly, bacteria and viruses have a tendency to spread from person to person and hence such protocols helps to protect people for the larger good. On the other hand, some individuals are sceptical when it comes to such practices and are anxious about the outcomes of these medicines. Moreover, societal taboo has caused a major problem to deviate parents to register these vaccines. To summarize, the well-being of children is the well-being of the future; therefore, although, these methods violate the freedom of choice of a person, I believe an individual benefit immensely through these preventive measures.