All Children should study a foreign language in school, starting in the earliest grades. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The ever emerging world is full of competition. It is believed by many, that kids should be exposed to a language other than their mother tongue early on in their academic years. This essay will support this argument because children have greater grasping ability at a very young age and when introduced early on they will not feel burdened by an additional subject in their secondary school. Firstly, it is a popular belief that younger the offspring better is the grasping power. Just like infants do not know any word when they are born, but quickly pick it up from their parents, similarly introducing language skills early on can be beneficial. To illustrate this example, in India, in the 60s a third language was added to the syllabus only in high school, but after much research the educators realised that a toddler is able to grasp it much faster in kindergarten itself. This is the reason I support the idea of introducing a foreign language to a child when he is most adaptable. Secondly, I think if the school syllabus is fixed, then the child will not feel anxious when introduced to a completely new language when they grow up. Moreover, the new education system puts a lot of pressure on the pupil due to a myriad of subjects. Furthermore, if the child can adapt to a new language early, they would be able to master it by the time they are ready to graduate. This will not only add to their resume, but also give them confidence. For example, we were introduced to Sanskrit in the first grade itself and by the time the children were leaving school most of them were holding an expert certification in the subject. In conclusion, many feel that the school syllabus should add foreign language as an additional subject to the early years of education. I think it is a valid idea because youngsters are able to easily grasp a language and if they start early, it may not overwhelm them in the later years of schooling.