some people say the main environmental problem of our time is loss of particular species of plants and animals. others say there are more important environmental problems . Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The last decade has seen a substantial impact of the human progress on planet earth. While some argue that the biggest concern has been the considerable amount of plant and animal life extinction, others think there are larger issues to tackle, one being global warming. In this essay, we will discuss both the views, while I put forth my opinion towards the end. Firstly, due to the population growth, there is a constant need to make space for civilisation, which resulted in deforestation, and impacted the eco-system of the planet. Moreover, it is already established that a large number of species will be extinct around us, if extreme measures are not in place soon. For example, a recent research suggested that 50% of the sea life will be lost by 2035 around Mumbai, due to the new construction of the coastal road. While the connectivity around the city will improve considerably, it will greatly harm the sea world. In addition to this, there are other alarming issues which do exist. One of the major one being global warming. A recent study shows that, more than 40% of the icebergs in Antartica will be lost by 2050, and this change is non reversible. It is not only detrimental to the weather conditions around the world, but it will be a big threat to human life. Furthermore, loss of living life is all interconnected to climate change. This is the reason why just concentrating on one issue is not good enough. In conclusion, while some feel that loss of animal and plant species is the only issue which needs attention, others feel there are bigger problems like climate change which need equal attention. I hugely support the latter argument, that there are multiple problems to be tackled to reverse the impact on the environment.