In some countries children take up paid jobs during the summer vacation. Some people feel that this amounts to child labour. Others argue that summer jobs help children learn valuable lessons. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In most countries nowadays, children tend to find paid jobs during their summer break. Even though people view this from different perspectives, I believe that it is important for a child to take up a job whenever time permits without having it interfere with their studies. First of all, people tend to think it is important to enjoy their childhood as much as possible, especially during the vacations as childhood will never come back. Hence such a mindset will lead to thinking working during the school break can be counted as child labour. But as far as it is legal and parents approve, it cannot be considered child labour. In addition, younger selves end up enjoying the work and time more since they get to meet school friends and go out even during the break. Apart from that aspect, it is evident that such jobs teach a lot of skills and lessons that cannot be taught from anywhere else. Networking, working under an employment set-up, punctuality and decision-making skills are a few soft skills that will be improved in kids if they work during the summer. Apart from such skills, they also learn the value of money, how hard it is to earn, what it takes to be employed and its perks. Hence such motivates teenagers to do better in schools and ultimately gives them a goal to study harder and follow their dream jobs instead of getting stuck in menial work. So in conclusion, I agree that it is a good idea for kids to take up a job during holidays as it has more advantages towards shaping up a kid's life in a better way instead of considering it as a labour exploitation.