Some people argue that we should do research into their family history. Others, agree with the view that we should focus on the present and future generations. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Researching family background or focusing on the present/future generations is a debatable question. While some people find it useful to understand the background behind an individual, others may think that a person isn't necessarily related to their parents. Whether this question could be answered or not, it is hard to say, but I support the opinion that we should examine each situation separately. This essay will show both views of this debate and state the final opinion over the arguments provided. Family history is important in many situations, researching a person's background could be useful to answer some questions. Biologically speaking, your body is completely related to your parents, furthermore, researching on an individual family could be good to understand the probability of a specific disease, baldness or even explain the body structure itself. In addition, wealthiness, especially at young ages, is unfortunately related to the family condition, therefore, an individual economic condition could be explained by its parental history, nevertheless, religious tradition and cultural costumes can also be understood. Even though the family is a strict bound to the growth of a child, at some point in life the person usually will have the control of their present and future. Imagine an adult with total control over their finances and relationships, despite the place he has lived, he will take the majority of the decisions in his life, as such, researching his past may not be necessary at all. In conclusion, although sometimes we can identify some benefits from a family's research, in other scenarios the research could be fully ignored. My argument is that we should identify the situation to answer precisely the question, however, neither of those views are right or wrong, instead, they should only be less strict.