Major cities in the world are growing fast, as well as their problems. What are the problems people living in cities face? How can they be solved?

In the modern world, major cities are expanding rapidly because more and more people are moving there. With the increasing population, the problems such cities face rise rapidly. Some issues they may face are traffic, higher housing prices, and fewer job opportunities. However, these problems can be solved by building new roads, applying rent control rules, and encouraging investors to build companies. The first problem people living in cities may face is the growing traffic. More individuals mean more cars, which can lead to traffic jams. This problem can be easily solved by constructing new roads to improve the country’s infrastructure. A good implementation of population can be seen in the city of Al Amirat in Muscat. Before the rising number of population, there was only one way in and out of Amirat. However, with the increasing demand, a new road was built. The new mountain road split the movement of cars and significantly reduced the problem. The second issue they might face is higher rent prices. When the demand for housing rises, the rent value also goes up. For example, in the city of Amirat, the average rate for a 5-bedroom villa was 75 OMR per month; however, this number nearly tripled by 2025 due to the demand. Setting rental control rules will help in the reduction of the asking price, offering a valid answer. The last setback they may face is fewer job opportunities. The expanding numbers of job seekers create the dilemma of fewer jobs, which can lead to unemployment. This can be reduced if we open the gates from outside to create new companies and force them to hire locals. For instance, ever since Dubai opened its city for new developments, new opportunities have emerged for the citizens. In conclusion, although the cities’ problems rise with the amount of people moving to it, simple solutions can solve large problems like unemployment, high living costs, and traffic.