There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides and share your opinion.

In recent years, heinous crimes are a rising concern in many nations. Although few individuals believe that capital punishment is the way forward, I do not concur with it and in the essay, I will provide my point of view with examples. On one hand, people who advocate grave punishments for the significantly big offences may argue that by doing so a lot of offenders will get scared and will not proceed to break the law. For example, the corrupt persons may get discouraged to do something evil to society if they know that the end result will be a sure shot death if proven guilty. If in case, we do not have such a strong consequence and settle for mediocre ones like incarceration, these offenders might take it easy and keep on repeating these misdemeanours. On the other hand, in my view execution is not justified even if how immense the crime is. We must take into consideration the circumstances under which the offence was committed. For instance, if an individual was forced to break a law for some ransom, he does not deserve to be executed and should be given a sentence accordingly. Moreover, there are a lot of crimes for which even the death penalty will not be enough such as terrorism, where terrorists are not afraid to die. Hence, capital punishment will not make a difference. In conclusion, despite the fear being installed in people to avoid committing crimes, in my opinion, these must be weighed against the circumstances in which they were done. Personally, I feel that understanding these circumstances is more just, and justice, in my view is paramount.