Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals say consuming sugary foods and drinks raises the risk of health problems. Therefore, the price of these products should be increased to prevent consumers from eating them. Although I understand why some advocate the aforementioned view, I assert that this argument is not an ideal solution to tackle the problem. Some argue that if the high authorities yearn for healthy societies, they should increase sweet refreshment prices to curb consumption. One possible explanation for this belief is that the adversaries may think sweet foods and drinks are the primary factors for human health. Indeed, consuming too many products containing high sugar levels can render a risk of health issues, such as obesity, diabetes, and heart attack, hence hanging human well-being in the balance. Another factor reinforcing the perspective above is the convenient access to these food and drink products. Consumers can purchase sugary beverages and sweet cakes at any convenience store without problems. Moreover, these things have low costs, rendering them accessible to many walks of life. Nevertheless, I maintain the perspective that the plan to increase prices for sweet foods and drinks to motivate people to eat less sugary refreshments is inefficient. The first highlight that needs to be mentioned is the sudden price rise, which can be detrimental to low-income families. Families that are not financially well-off might be unable to afford their kids' favourite foods, such as ice cream or candy floss, because of the dramatic cost, diminishing their well-being. The second idea that needs to be mentioned is that increasing the prices of sugary refreshments to prevent people from taking in high levels of sugar can negatively impact the quality of life. It forces mature people, especially parents, to work around the clock to earn enough money to buy necessities instead of using that quality time for their children, leading to the deficiency of love, care, and respect. Unfortunately, this can lead them to become dangerous culprits in the future due to this traumatic adolescence. In conclusion, reducing sugar consumption is a pressing urge to improve public well-being, but simply increasing the costs of these products is not a suitable solution to restrict this consumption, and I agree with this viewpoint.