Many people today use their phones for sending texts more than talking. What are the reasons for this? Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

There is no denying that the smartphones have changed our mode to communicate to each other. Nowadays individuals tend to text more than making calls. Some experts say this type of communication is not appropriate because it is very manipulated. Others say is more practical and less expensive. I tend to agree to the latter. From my standpoint, this recent technology brought us a faster way to talk to others. Firstly, there was a time that people had to make a call to simply leave a message. By contrast, nowadays it is possible, only in a few seconds, to text a short note. Therefore, texting is more practical because it does not depend on another person. Additionally, smartphone gave us other choices to interact with people, by using apps, such as WhatsApp and Telegram. Those alternatives reduce our expenses because they use the Internet, which is less expensive than texting or making a call. Secondly, when we are writing it is possible to erase words that could be offensive, or simply change our mind and write something totally different. Moreover, it is possible to seem calm when actually you are nervous, in other words, it is a mode to hide your emotions. Lastly, one massive concern is related to how transparent and real we are when we write. For example, through the sounds of the voice, it is possible to demonstrate our emotions. In this way, from using our phone we could be closer to our loved ones and also have warmers relationships. To sum up, in my opinion, there are more advantages of texting than using the phone. The only problem is that people should find a balance between texting and making calls. There are many situations that texting could diminish the bonds and to make individuals apathetic.