Some people think that robots are important for humanʼs future development. Others think that robots have negative effects on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Artificial intelligence has been a hot topic for discussion in recent times, especially due to how rapidly new developments in the field are being made. More advancements in the field has been made in just the last 5 years alone than the entire time AI has been a thing. With innovations such as generative art, chatbots, and voice models it should be no surprise that there will be a lot of divide surrounding the topic. This essay aims to explore the ideas behind both sides; for and against AI, and give my own thoughts on the discourse. When generative AI first became popular with the creation of tools such as DALL-E, concerns immediately arose regarding the moral implications of using such tools. It didn't take long for people to discover that AI models scour the internet for pre-existing artworks as a basis for their generations, and this garnered a lot of controversy. Robots were essentially stealing elements from works that real artists put time and effort into making. To me, this was the main catalyst behind the movement against AI, and I think this point in particular is understandable and I agree with it to an extent. However, there are clear benefits of it as well. The most obvious and foremost benefit is that proper usage of AI accelerates mundane tasks for humans, and in some cases completely automates them. When you think about it, machines were invented in the first place to make doing things easier for humans. AI is the same in that sense. Thanks to this, we are able to speed up processes and make time for further developments. Finally, to wrap things up I want to say that I do believe that AI is more beneficial to the development of society overall than it is a detriment. However, such powerful tools must be used correctly, and I do think that generative art does not fall under the 'proper use'.