news editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. what factors do you think influence these decisions? do we become used to bad news? would it be better if more good news was reported?

Media outlets often find themselves in turmoil in choosing issues to present to the public. Although they consider a lot of aspects, bad accounts are usually more common to find rather than pleasant ones. This leads people to argue that a good narrative must be delivered, or perhaps even more reported. In detail, editors take into account various features that guarantee the audience's interest. News should have prominence, meaning consumers need to recognize the subject such as celebrities. It additionally needs to have timeliness which translates to being updated. Lastly, it must be significant, in other words, important to society. Moreover, these qualities make an event likely appealing to the public and are highly considered in decision-making regarding headlines. While both types of narratives meet the aforementioned characteristics, editors commonly take advantage of the psychological habit of people to dwell on despicable stories or gossip. For instance, media coverage of Donald Trump's previous crime allegations during the United States elections completely overshadowed his past political achievements. Furthermore, studies show there is a human tendency to react more strongly to negative information in contrast to positive ones which subsequently leads to anxiety or mood disorders. Nevertheless, according to another study, gratifying stories have been shown to boost dopamine levels which consequently improves mood as well as decreases depression. Therefore, it would be better to increase the number of uplifting broadcasts such as Carlos Yulo's double gold victory during the Paris Olympics which certainly makes individuals feel more elated, inspired and relieved. This is undoubtedly more beneficial than fixating on depressing topics that likely affect a person's mental well-being. In summary, news that is intriguing, timebound and relevant highly influences broadcasting. Correspondingly, these requirements are similarly met by both horrid and optimistic journals. Unfortunately, these factors are more utilized by negative controversy due to the likelihood that people’s curiosity is more drawn by horrible events despite their psychological impacts. Despite that, mood-lightening reports should be aired more to redirect the public’s focus to healthy journalism consumption rather than a toxic one which is proportional to optimal psychological health.