Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money making attractions aimed at tourists. Others believe it is the only way to save these traditions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people believe that the authenticity of traditional customs will deteriorate once they are used as a money-making attraction for tourists, while some others consider this as an attempt to preserve these traditions. Personally, I agree that charging tourists to witness cultural traditions will give several benefits to the locals, but at the same time, it will also change the value of the culture itself. On one hand, charging tourists for cultural traditions is believed to be an effective way to preserve the culture. The reason for this is because some cultures require a huge amount of money to be performed. Let's take "Tari Kecak" from Bali as an example. To exhibit the show, "Tari Kecak" is usually performed by a group of people with specific costumes at specific venues. Considering this, it is obvious that this culture requires a big fund to maintain the performers as well as their supplementary. Thus, charging tourists for this will significantly help the locals to maintain their traditions. On the other hand, turning cultural traditions into a business also has a downside. Exposure to mass tourism might lead to over-commercialization, and at some points, there will be a need to alter the cultural traditions so it will meet tourists ' expectations. As a result, the traditions will be commodified and gradually lose their authenticity and meaning. In conclusion, although it will give a significant help to preserve the traditions, commercializing it might lead to cultural commodification. Performing the traditions will be no longer for purpose or meaning-oriented, but merely to amuse the tourists. Therefore, I believe that the government also need to take responsibility to solve this concern.