Around the world it is likely that more adults will work from home and more children will study from home as computer technology becomes cheaper and more accessible. Do you think it is a negative or a positive development?

There is no denying that technology has brought many great advancements to our contemporary society, as a result, nowadays is possible to see people working and children studying from home. However, it is true that problems have raised simultaneously with its advent. In this context, with both positive and negative outcomes, I tend to agree the benefits are greater than the drawbacks. Firstly, in the current scenario that pandemic brought to us is possible to see many individuals working from their home office. Consequently, they will not have to face long hours in traffic congestion, as several people in São Paulo have to do every day, and also increase their quality of life. In other words, it is possible to have more time to exercise themselves and also to eat home-made food, that tend to be healthier. As a result, it is possible to see people who have their level of stress decreased due to the fact of being working from their residence. Secondly, children also benefit from their parents working from their place. To illustrate, the young ones could have all meals together with their guardians, habits they were not able to have before the pandemic. Furthermore, when pupils study from home with all support from an adult, they tend to learn better than at school. Research has suggested homeschooled children tend to do better on standardized tests, remain longer in college, and obtain greater results once they are enrolled. Lastly, one massive concern is about children spending time in front of screens. Studies have shown that it could cause several damages to them, both physically and emotionally. In this way, it is crucial also to study from books and not only from a computer. Additionally, classes could not last long hours, and parents should be prepared to assist their offspring and remove doubts they could have. To sum up, as I see it, it is a positive development to have children homeschooled and adults who work from work, as demonstrated.