Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that containing high levels of sugar in manufacturing food and drink products leads to several health diseases such as diabetes or obesity. While I agree that making sugary items more expensive is a good way to encourage consumers to utilise less sugar, it is not enough to prevent consumers from eating sweet, and I believe the government should educate the public to be aware of the consequences of consuming sugary products.  On the one hand, increasing the prices of food and drink products makes people avoid overusing sweets. In other words, if the sweet goods are very expensive, eaters will not eat frequently, and this way controls the use of sugar. For example,  many manufacturing companies in Singapore have raised the prices for sweet foods and drinks, such as chocolate or energy drinks, and a survey noticed that there is a significant decrease in the consumption of sugary goods, and the rates of obesity and diabetes. Thus,  it shows that it is an efficient way of encouraging people to avoid causing health problems by eating sweets. However, in the long run, raising the price of confectionery goods alone is insufficient to prevent people from eating sweetened items, and they should be educated to be aware of the consequences of overusing sweets. For instance, the community centre in Singapore has held programs to enlighten the local community about the risk of eating sugar, which can lead to several diseases, such as even cancers. In this way, they can control their usage by having enough knowledge. To conclude, making more expensive of the confectonery items is a good way of keeping consumers from eating less sugar. Nevertheless, I believe that combining education to raise awareness will help people to control themselves and avoid using too many sweetened items.