Nowadays we are producing more and more waste. What are the causes of this? What can be done to help reduce the amount of waste we produce?

In the contemporary world, a waste generation had become an important issue. From my perspective, the dramatic increase in the population and the development of industries are two main causes. To resolve the problem, education towards the public and regulations towards the factories can be taken into consideration. To begin with, a significant rise in the population and a prompt development of industries are two main causes. As a consequence, a large amount of household waste and industrial waste had been the two main sources of waste disposal. For example, to illustrate the significance of household waste, in 2015, Harvard University had modelled the relationship between the change of the population and the amount of household waste. They found that domestic waste had a five-fold climb when the quantity of the world's population doubled. As for industrial waste, according to the United States Environmental Protection Agency, it had polluted numerous rivers and seas, which deteriorate the ecosystem of human beings. To address the waste problem, education and regulations can be involved. Firstly, by setting environmental protection courses in schools and companies, people would raise their awareness and take actions, such as using recycled cups when they buy Starbuck coffee. Secondly, governments should establish related rules to decrease the waste factories throwing away. For instance, if the factories know they would face financial punishments when they discard excessive amounts of waste, they would pay more attention to optimize their waste treatments. Thus, the issue of waste can be well-addressed. To summarize, due to the large population and the development of industries, the amount of waste is dramatically increasing. Nevertheless, it can be improved by instructing the public and establishing suitable regulations.