It is better to learn the way people lived in the past through films and video records than written documents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is important for people to become educated about events that happened in the past. Whereas some people believe that learning through films or videos is better, while it is helpful, I would argue that learning from written documents such as Wikipedia or by surfing the internet should be also taken into consideration up to a point. One of the most crucial advantages behind the education about people who lived in the past via watching a movie is simplicity in receiving the required information. This is because the duration of a movie is usually one to two hours, and this makes it easier for the receiver to build a background when compared with the traditional way of learning. Troy, for instance, was one of the most successful true-story films that presented the life of the ancient Romans. The film’s content had some vital details that cannot be easily found in books. Consequently, some people will find it difficult to search for the same content in books as it might take a longer period of time than watching a movie. Moreover, many people would find it boring to learn about a certain event via written documents. The reason behind this is that these written documents do not have graphics or audio to attract learners. It has been shown that the vast majority of people would prefer to learn through watching a movie faster than the written documents. Nevertheless, some people, especially the elderly who are interested in learning about people’s old lives have libraries that include some of the old books to return to them when needed specific information. Not only this, but some of them would use the internet in terms of educating about the past. In conclusion, although having appropriate knowledge about past lives by watching movies is much more entertaining and easier than learning via written documents, I believe that the latter should not be neglected.