Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

In this day and age, how to punish wrongdoers is a hot issue in some countries. Some people believe that certain captives could be punished by doing society services without salary rather than being kept in jails. This essay shall discuss both sides of the argument before concealing with a clear opinion. On the one hand, doing voluntary works sentences is not conformable for those who took part in serious crimes such as organized robbery or murder. It is true that those people could take advantage of the services to bring forbidden items such as drugs, alcohol, or knives into jails to seek profit. Then, the worst situation that could happen is that those dangerous criminals might escape from prison and pose a serious threat to society. Therefore, those offenders should be put into prison sentences to protect innocent citizens. On the other hand, some people committing minor crimes should not be convicted as a criminal in prisons. Some criminals engaging in illegal activities such as shoplifting or pickpocketing are not serious to serve a prison sentence. Governments should take unpaid community jobs such as cleaning stress or planting trees into consideration to punish them. Keeping those people in the community could help them both develop empathy for others and have a chance of rehabilitation or make a fresh start after being realized. Thus, doing unpaid community services is a better solution than custodial sentences for those types of crimes. In conclusion, those people who commit crimes always is chastised adequately in jails or doing community services