Some people say that the main environmental problem of our times is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

A few pupils state the primary environmental issue in today's day and age is the loss of certain kinds of plants and animals. On the other hand, another group of people say there are far more important problems that the environment has which need attention. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and give substantial reasons why I agree to the latter school of thought. Living in a developing country makes one witness the rapid growth of industrialisation. This has led to a lot of new multinational companies opening up or expanding their business centres which require acres of space destroying the living ecosystems of plants and animals. Firstly, these commercial spaces demolish forests leaving the animals living in them to perish with no proper arrangement. Additionally, these spaces are built underground with massive digging involved which is the main reason why trees are uprooted. For example, Raheja commercial spaces built their 5000-acre workspace at Aarey Colony which destroyed over 50 million plants and 18 Leopards who moved to the streets as they had no home anymore. At the rate at which industries are growing, very soon we will have no nature left in this concrete jungle. However, there are bigger problems at hand that require immediate attention. Due to the constant smoke factories emit through the years and the chemical waste which is left in water streams, air pollution is at the epitome of the reasons behind future natural disasters whereas water pollution plays second fiddle to it. For example, it had become unbearable to breathe in Delhi due to smog in the first quarter of 2019. Another instance, in Hyderabad 28 people died as they drank water from a river stream where a chemical factory dumped polluted water. These larger problems are going to be the reason why one would not be able to enjoy mother nature in the coming years. To summarise, despite the loss of animals and plants which is happening due to economic demands in the country, we need to focus on the larger issues at hand where human lives are at stake. In my opinion, the Government should have provisions where they avoid damaging the ecosystems living in nature, but should have clear measures for these corporate giants where they manage to reduce the toxicity levels they let into air and water.