In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shoppings centres or malls to do their shoping. Is this a positive or a negative development ?

The pace of change in the world of shopping is being constantly. It is possible to see that a considerable number of small local shops have closed, while large shopping centres and malls are in constant growth. This fact is mainly because of the population’s choice, which prefers places with good cost-benefit and a large variety of products. In addition, such places can help in development by decreasing unemployment. Due to these facts, I firmly believe that they are a positive action in advancement. Firstly, although some people argue that most of these places will overtake the way of shopping and impose their price, what we see is slightly different. In fact, these large shopping centres offer a huge range of products, from the front yard to backyard, with prices that were unimagined in small shops hence, the population can use the remaining money with other things. A recent statistic has shown that 95% of the shoppers chose large centres mainly because of the easiness in finding things for your house and the extremely good cost-benefit. Secondly, considering that such large shops and malls have strong planning and support behind them, they can hire a large number of people and offer competitive salaries, when compared to small shops. Aligned with this, these places go in trend to the evolution by decreasing the unemployment rate. A local newspaper has pointed out that unemployment in the city has drastically dropped, around 75% when compared with the same time before the opening of Walmart in the city. To summarize, while some people argue that these large centres will destroy or city in many ways, I strongly believe that their drawbacks are considerably small when compared with their positive impact on the development. Considering the fact that they create new jobs and offer an excellent trade-off between price and benefit on their products.