There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Nowadays, rather than testing students on the basis of continual assessments, the mode of conducting exams is extremely trending. On the one hand, certain people entrust that it will be beneficial for the children. Albeit, many believe the exact opposite. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages by citing certain significant references in order to suffice the argument. Undoubtedly, the trend of education is varying with the introduction of digital technology which has led to a vast competition amongst the students to prove themselves. Hence, many Institutions now conduct numerous exams in a single academic year and observe a pupil’s performance on the basis of scores achieved. Due to the near-sighted approach, there is an enormous expansion monitored in the competency amongst children, however, this methodology often fails to discover an individual's creativity. For example, some students suffer from examinophobia, and hence, the thought of being invigilated in an exam declines their confidence and as a result, they end up hampering their deliverables which turns their morale down. Earlier, the educational curriculum, unlike today’s approach, used to keep a track of academics in the multiple formats, such as weekly assignments, projects, impromptu extempore, which involved creative thinking and eventually improvised the functioning of a pre-frontal cortex of the human brain. For instance, a survey conducted by the New York University in early 2000, when the assignment trend was vastly popular, and the results were phenomenal as the students who were not academically strong found to perform well in the practical applications. To conclude, I would say that each kid is unique in itself. It is not ideal to measure their capabilities on the basis of a single factor. In addition, the ability of a fish cannot be compared with that of a bird, both grow in their respective fields. In a nutshell, assignments and practical test approach should be incentivised to discover a student’s actual potential.