Some companies sponsor sports and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is irrefutably true that the way of advertisement has changed over the years. Sponsorship has become more popular, wherein many companies advertise their products by sponsoring sports events or a sportsperson, which helps the company promote the brand and reach customers worldwide. Some people opine that this advertising practice has several benefits, while others believe it has more drawbacks. Meanwhile, in my personal opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. To commence with, one of the major advantages of sponsoring sports is that it increases respective companies’ sales. For example, suppose the company sponsors a sports team or a sports person of global interest. In that case, the organizers need not worry about the funding. These companies invest a considerable sum of money and look after the entire expenses of the particular sports star or sports event. They print their company ’s logo on the player’s jersey, display posters & banners, and grab the audience’s attention towards their products. Eventually, the company becomes a household name in the targeted society. Moreover, the sponsorship can provide an excellent platform for the new players. On the flip side, it is worth noting that there are some disadvantages of sponsorship, such as the company may be using the grounds of sporting events to boost the sales of their low-quality products. For example, a wine supplier company, Kingfisher, sponsors cricket to promote its product; nevertheless, wine has adverse effects on human health. Subsequently, if a sports person becomes injured or sick during the match season, the money invested by the company is wasted. In addition, if the sports player gets involved in illegal activities such as match-fixing or consumption of performance-enhancing drinks, then the company ’s reputation suffers. These kinds of acts also kill the essence of sports. To summarize, sponsoring sports events is mutually beneficial to both parties, on the contrary, the adverse outcomes are undeniable. The disadvantages are negligible when considering the advantages. In my perspective, I believe that sponsoring sports has opened a window for the company to stay in the market, and it’s the players’ duty to up their game level without getting caught in any scandal