SOME PEOPLE FEEL THAT THE DESIGN OF NEWLY CONSTRUCTED BUILDINGS IN BIG CITIES SHOULD BE CONTROLLED BY GOVERNMENTS. OTHERS BELIEVE THOSE WHO FINANCE THE CONSTRUCTION OF A BUILDING SHOULD BE FREE TO DESIGN IT AS THEY SEE FIT. DISCUSS BOTH THESE VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

While some people advocate that new buildings' shapes should be an exclusive concern of their owners, others defend that public authorities should have the definitive word on the design of edifices. In this essay, I will discuss these opposite perspectives and explain why I believe that governments must enforce all constructions to follow basic guidelines. Looking at buildings that are constructed without following regulations, a common feature is that they focus primarily on budget. Entrepreneurs are often tied to efficiency, so other concerns that could affect the community around their constructions may be neglected. For example, most edifices in Hong Kong were constructed to accommodate many people rather than fit the urban landscape. Another characteristic of freely built structures is that they give architects an enormous range of creative freedom for shapes and materials. In Italy, a group of professionals is building a 50-story wooden-made edifice, which they assume is an eco-friendly construction. Nonetheless, buildings that are designed under strict regulations by public policies have their shape usually set to fit in the urban atmosphere. Some ancient cities around the world impose severe rules on all new buildings since their governments have responsibilities to ensure the city’s landscape will not be affected by new constructions. For instance, this is the case of the ancient city of Cuzco, in Peru. Another important policy enforced by governments over new constructions is related to environmental concerns. In coastal cities, like Miami, new edifices are limited to a certain number of levels, depending on the region, which enables beaches to be under sunlight without obstacles. In conclusion, both arguments about the regulation of new buildings in metropolises are valid and present benefits and drawbacks, however, regarding public space, governments must ensure that all citizens are treated as equals. By controlling the design of constructions, cities are more likely to preserve history and the environment.