In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is increasingly common that individuals choose to read through electronic books rather than conventional books. Although there are several setbacks, this essay will explain that the benefits can outweigh them. To begin with, one of the main advantages is mobility. By using modern types of books, readers can easily read texts from anywhere by utilising their gadgets, without having to bring physical paper. As a result, individuals can read more papers and texts while also doing another activity. For example, in Japan, students are encouraged to bring the Kindle to their school, influencing them to read more while doing other sedentary activities. Consequently, the literacy rates of these kids have risen significantly. Furthermore, online books are easier to find. In this digital era, journals, papers, and other publications have already been published on the internet, significantly reducing the effort of searching. As a consequence, more subjects and majors can be understood since the focus is effectively allocated for the understanding processes rather than for the searching activities. For instance, since the library of the University of Indonesia shifted to a website platform, the number of borrowed books has been highly increased. This indicates that the online platform supports the argument effectively. However, paper books are risky. This is because people cannot be clumsy to manage on keeping the book. Due to the unpredictable weather, there might be consequences that the books might be broken, soaked, or even burned unintentionally. This can be seen in the rainy season situation in Indonesia, where bookworms have soaked their book because of the rain. Therefore, it is better to utilise the e- books instead of the conventional ones. In conclusion, although some people still choose to read books through the paper format, this essay believes that the mobility and easy-to-find benefits can outweigh the drawbacks.