In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In present, it has become easier for students to have the opportunity to study out of their countries which were not quite easy in the past. Although studying abroad has some advantageous aspects, it also has some disadvantages as well. One evident benefit of having the opportunity to be educated from another country is to have chances to learn from the best teachers available in the particular field of study. In other words, students get to learn from many experienced educators who were not so common in the past. Secondly, by studying abroad, pupils make new friends who are from different countries, therefore, they are introduced with many new countries and culture. Furthermore, a student who graduates from a foreign land not only obtain knowledge from their teachers but also from friends and neighbours. While there are some pros of graduating from countries other than motherlands, some cons are also there. Firstly, the students have to live without their families during their study period. Similarly, another disadvantage is that they tend to get better jobs in the foreign land and decide to settle abroad. Hence, family members of these students become lonely without their children and the country also faces a great loss as the future of the nation gets away from it. Researches have shown that, those who have a masters degree from abroad, almost 60% of them get jobs and settle there. To conclude, while in the past the pupils graduated from homeland universities due to lack of options and opportunities, nowadays, studying further for university degrees in foreign countries have earned much popularity which has both merits and demerits for both the students and the nation. Government of these countries should arrange better facilities and qualified teachers to let the students have the chances to obtain a university degree in their homeland.